DIY: Silhouettes – Cheap, Simple, Chic

Silhouette final project

I’ll fill those canyons in your soul, like a river lead you home. And I’ll walk a step behind, in the shadows so you shine. Just ask, it will be done and I will prove my love, until you’re sure that I’m the one. – Gary Allan

Silhouettes are something so simple that elementary kids do art projects with them! Besides their simplicity they are also elegant and timely. With the revival of The Great Gatsby, simple elegance has remerged.

I have loved silhouettes since I was little, due to my love for antiques, and now it’s time for everyone else to catch the craze!

Silhouette Project: Supplies

To help all of you visualize what you can do with silhouettes I did a project of my own!

When I went to the store I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do. I knew that I wanted to mess around with the idea of silhouettes after I saw an article on Twitter from Bridal Musings, about using silhouettes as cake toppers.

Now I didn’t want to steal this idea, so I went to the store and started grabbing things that I thought were cute (not exactly knowing what I was going to do with them later).

I first started with the paper, the most important part. I decided to grab some plain matte pieces that you can buy for less than a dollar, unless you want higher quality, and I also grabbed a piece that had some texture to it.

Silhouette Project: Step 1

Oh! And DON’T limit yourself to black! You can use darker shades of any color to still have that silhouette appeal, or you can go another route and get lighter shades if you know that you will have a darker setting.

I then found metal scroll details that would go at the corners of a scrap-book page. Amazingly they were pretty cheap so I threw ’em in the pile!

Next, I found some elegant black letters with an art deco pattern and a few sparkles. Granted they were probably the most expensive part of this project, but well worth it. They fit exactly what I was looking for and I couldn’t get them out of my head! I also grabbed a spool of ribbon, just because I love it.

I also grabbed some popsicle sticks, just in case I wanted to try out the cake topper idea. If you want to do this though, I suggest using coffee stirrers or something small and thin (popsicle sticks don’t break cleanly).

Silhouette Project: Step 2

All-in-all I spent less than $20 on everything at the store.

Dumping my finds out on the couch I started mulling over what I could do, but I decided to just go with what came to me as I was crafting! Wing it!

 

I printed off some mountain creatures and elements, just because I love the mountains and there have been many mountain themed weddings popping on my feeds! I didn’t really do any specific size, except making sure the my mountains and trees were bigger than my animals.

I then cut out around the mountain, doing the easiest silhouette first so that I could see what I should or shouldn’t do.

Silhouette Project: Step 3

I found it easiest to get a cheap glue stick and lightly glue the printed copy of the silhouette to my chosen paper, and then cut out the details of the silhouette after.

This allows you to move your hands freely without sliding the papers around and getting the lines out of whack.

Be careful if you are doing detailed silhouettes!

The deer was probably the most difficult one because of the fact that the silhouette has such thin and detailed portions. I suggest making a larger silhouette if you want something with particular and characteristics that are small.

Once all of the details are cut out, carefully peel off the printed silhouette and discard. If done with minimal glue there should be hardly any residue or paper stuck to the finished product.

Repeat this with every silhouette that you want.

Silhouette Project: Step 4

For my project I decided to use one of the pieces of paper as a background and make it into an art piece. You could use this as decoration around the room, or near your guestbook sign in. If looking to use silhouettes in you centerpieces you can incorporate them into a bouquet and use the silhouettes as table “names,” instead of numbers.

 

I messed around with the layout for a while trying to figure out what would look best with the cut-outs. Once that was done, it was time for… EMBELLISHMENT! I automatically knew that I wanted to put a saying, something short (because I didn’t have that many letters to work with), in the cloud cut-out. Once I came up with “Wild Love,” I knew that I wanted to use the metal scrap-book pieces on the corners so I set them down.

Silhouette S

After looking at it for a while I felt like it wasn’t quite complete. The metal corners just seemed off. So I came up with using ribbon as a makeshift frame!

Voila!

For more silhouette projects see:

Bridal Musings

Imgur

Hearts Hugs and Flowers

20131015_171740

100 Layer Cake

Craft By Photo

 

With these ideas and some of your own you can make silhouettes a key piece to your wedding, or even make it the theme!

Find beauty not only in the thing itself but in the pattern of the shadows, the light and dark which that thing provides. – Junichiro Tanizaki

20131012_213518

20131012_204700

 

Leave a Reply

